It rained in the 1980’s too!

Earlier this month on facebook I questioned that anyone would read or be interested in what I might have to say, so I was quite surprised when someone called me and left a voice message in response to the blog I wrote on March 28 of this year titled, “Staying dry on your next bicycle adventure.”

 The person, who did not leave his name or phone number, called to comment quite vehemently on this seemingly innocent statement, “Without proper rainwear protection, you may arrive at your destination soaking wet. It’s easy to understand how uncomfortable and inconvenient this would be as I personally found out on one 4th of July weekend ride a few years ago.” My caller informed me that it had not rained on the 4th of July in Oregon since the year 2000, and that I should get my facts straight! The message made me smile since the weekend to which I was referring was sometime in the 1980’s! I guess that my “a few years ago” is someone else’s ancient history, and that I need to be very specific when I mention a weather event. So I’ve already learned that while people may not necessarily be interested in what I have to say, they ARE paying attention and will take the time to set me straight.

2 Responses

  1. Great to see your blog up and running!

    I have a few suggestions:

    1) How about making “Tall” versions available for your jackets and pants?

    2) How about adding a gusset to the crotch of your pants and shorts?

    3) How about making a knicker-length version of your touring shorts?

    4) How about making a full length version of your touring shorts with the ability to zip-off the lower quarter (converting them to knickers)?

    5) How about making a zip-off version of your rain pants (zip to 3/4 knicker length)

    6) How about making a zip-off version of your rain jacket to allow converting it into a vest/billet. No one makes a cycling rain jacket with zip off arms – would careful design & waterproof zips make such a thing possible?

    Just a few of the ideas I’d love to see put into production. 🙂

    Thanks for keeping your production domestic! 🙂

    • Thanks for the great suggestions!. Some of them are already on our list of future production plans, and we’ll add the others. The next products added will be the “Tall” line. Not only is it challenging to keep production domestic (which we’re committed to doing), it is also challenging to keep up with our current production needs with the limited production resources currently available to us. We’d like to be adding those new products more quickly, but each one takes time. Suggestions such as yours keeps us motivated, so thanks again!

Leave a Reply

